Important Update! In-Game Server List!

IceSkater

Regular Poster
HELLOCLAN LEADERSHIP
REGISTERED
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
925
Age
24
Location
South Africa
Real Name
Shaun

Hello HelloClan community!​


I bring some fantastic news, albeit a bit belated.



We all know that when GameSpy shutdown yesteryear, it took with it the ability to see the servers listed in-game itself. qTracker rose up as an emulator for it and we've been using that for sometime now.

However, qTracker officially shutdown back in June 20th 2017 (https://www.qtracker.com/news.php) and for whatever reason we still had reasonable success using it until a few months ago where it started dying.

It partially still works, but it doesn't list every server (and sometimes just lists none at all). It seems to be working selectively, in my opinion just finally dying...



Unfortunately, until last night there was no sight of an alternative. But a saving grace came in the form of "mister" on Discord. He is a keen Battlefield enthusiast and honestly dropped out of the sky for me. He showed me that OpenSpy was actually supporting BFV and after a few discussions, he patched our server binaries & Battlefield.exe launcher for us!

This means that not only can we see an in-game server list again, but it also means near-indefinite support for this! I've updated our server's with these binaries so it can be seen in-game, however there is still a tiny matter and this is the main point of this announcement.


A little bit of work for you; don't worry, it's worth it!​


I need all our users to please replace their BfVietnam.exe files. Basically, you need only re-download the no-cd patch here: https://www.helloclan.eu/resources/7/ and just follow the same steps. Copy all three files and paste + replace them inside your game directory.

Alternatively, you can also edit your local hosts file. Mister has a guide here: https://cetteup.com/320/how-to-update-your-battlefield-vietnam-client-to-use-openspy/ (he also has the no-cd patch listed there for download.

When you launch the game, please hit the "Update" button in the Multiplayer screen and it will generate the servers that are currently patched to use OpenSpy.



I have also taken the liberty of sending all the server owners a message via GameTracker to try get them to update their binaries' too. Along with a request to join me in a group DM for some future plans. :)

A huge thank you to Mister for the time and trouble, he has helped our little BFV community greatly. A massive thank you as well to OpenSpy, who is now also tracking players and listing the servers for BFV here: http://beta.openspy.net/en/server-list/bfvietnam



Regards,
Ice
 
Last edited:

DaddyO

Forum Newbie
BATTLEFIELD VIETNAM ADMIN
REGISTERED
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
71
Real Name
Leon
I did all this and now see about 5 servers listed in the browser, but none of them are Hello Clan servers. Something I did wrong? FYI, 2 of the browser servers listed are openspy titled, so I think I am seeing the correct server list now, just no HC servers.
 

IceSkater

Regular Poster
HELLOCLAN LEADERSHIP
REGISTERED
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
925
Age
24
Location
South Africa
Real Name
Shaun
I did all this and now see about 5 servers listed in the browser, but none of them are Hello Clan servers. Something I did wrong? FYI, 2 of the browser servers listed are openspy titled, so I think I am seeing the correct server list now, just no HC servers.
What you should see is this:

Battlefield Vietnam Screenshot 2021.11.19 - 21.05.12.38.png


Can you screenshot your server list please after clicking on the "Update" button on the left-hand side of the Multiplayer menu?
 

DaddyO

Forum Newbie
BATTLEFIELD VIETNAM ADMIN
REGISTERED
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
71
Real Name
Leon
1637353924149.png


Totally different list than yours. So obviously I have done something different.
 

IceSkater

Regular Poster
HELLOCLAN LEADERSHIP
REGISTERED
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
925
Age
24
Location
South Africa
Real Name
Shaun

DaddyO

Forum Newbie
BATTLEFIELD VIETNAM ADMIN
REGISTERED
Joined
Nov 17, 2020
Messages
71
Real Name
Leon
Done and working. I must have had a copy of the game running previously in the background. 😳
Thanks!
 

TonyB

Forum Rookie
REGISTERED
Joined
Jan 15, 2021
Messages
192
Do we "need" to do this? I haven't had any trouble joining the HELLO server.
 
Top